Subscribe to our Email Alerts

Board of Directors

Amplia Therapeutics is governed by a small board which works closely with the company's executive team, together with external consultants and collaborators, to achieve maximum value for the company's stakeholders. 

Warwick Tong MB ChB MPP GAICD

Non-Executive Chairman of the Board

Warwick is a NZ trained physician with more than 25 years’ experience in the Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology industry.

After his early career in General Medical Practice Warwick has held a wide variety of roles in the pharmaceutical and biotech industry in NZ(Glaxo) Singapore (GlaxoWellcome) London (GSK), Boston (Surface Logix) and Melbourne (CTx - Cancer Therapeutics CRC). His roles have included; Medical Director, Regional Business Development Director (Asia Pacific), Commercial Strategy Director (International) and SVP Development (USA).

He was CEO and Director of CTx from 2011 until April 2018 and remains in an advisory role and as Director and Chair of the CTx commercialisation company, CTxONE. He is a Director and Chair of BioMedVic, a member of the Governance Board of the ARC CoE in Convergent Bio Nano Science, a member of the SAB of the Maurice Wilkins Centre in Auckland NZ, the Advisory Board of Cortex Health, Melbourne, the Industry Advisory Board, School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Melbourne and a member of the CSIRO Manufacturing, Business Advisory Committee.

Warwick was educated at the University of Auckland and Victoria University, Wellington, New Zealand and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr. Tong was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on the 4th of May 2018 and Chairman on 25 May 2018. Dr. Tong is also a member of the Audit Committee.

Simon Wilkinson

Non-Executive Director

Simon was the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Company from 2004 to 2019. He has overseen multiple early stage clinical development programmes in indications as diverse as HIV and progressive multiple sclerosis. While on his watch, the Company has successfully opened two INDs in the U.S. for complex biological products, with both products manufactured in-house compliant with GMP requirements. Prior to his 18 year involvement in biotech, Simon spent 20 years in finance, banking and business management after training as an officer in the Royal New Zealand Navy.

Mr. Wilkinson was appointed as a Director of the Company on 22 November 2004.

Mr. Wilkinson stepped down as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer on 24 June 2019 and remains on the Board as a Non-Executive Director.

Robert Peach Ph.D

Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Peach has over 25 years of drug discovery and development experience in the Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology industry.  In 2009 he co-founded Receptos, becoming Chief Scientific Officer and raising $59M in venture capital and $800M in an IPO and three subsequent follow-on offerings.  In August 2015 Receptos was acquired by Celgene for $7.8B.  Robert held senior executive and scientific positions in other companies including Apoptos, Biogen Idec, IDEC and Bristol-Myers Squibb, supporting in-licensing, acquisition and venture investments.  His extensive drug discovery and development experience in autoimmune and inflammatory diseases, and cancer has resulted in multiple drugs entering clinical trials and 3 registered drugs.  He is currently on the Board of Directors and Scientific Advisory Board of Avalia Immunotherapies and is a consultant for several other biotechnology companies.

Robert is the co-author of 70 scientific publications and book chapters, and 17 patents.  He was educated at the University of Canterbury and the University of Otago, New Zealand.  

Dr. Peach was appointed as an independent Non-Executive Director on the 2nd of September 2015 and is a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Christian Behrenbruch B.Eng (Hons) D.Phil (Oxon) MBA JD FIEAust GAICD

Non-Executive Director

Chris has twenty years of healthcare entrepreneurship and executive leadership experience in medtech and biotechnology.

He has previously served in a CEO or Executive Director capacity at Mirada Solutions, CTI Molecular Imaging (now Siemens Healthcare), Fibron Technologies and ImaginAb, Inc. He is a former Director of Momentum Biosciences LLC, Siemens Molecular Imaging Ltd, Radius Health Ltd (now Adaptix) and was the former Chairman of Cell Therapies P/L (a partnership with the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre). Chris is currently CEO of Telix Pharmaceuticals Limited (ASX:TLX) and a non-executive director of Factor Therapeutics (ASX:FTT). He is Chairman of the Monash Engineering and IT Foundation Board and is an Adjunct Professor at Monash University.

Chris holds a D.Phil (PhD) in biomedical engineering from the University of Oxford, an executive MBA jointly awarded from New York University, HEC Paris and the London School of Economics (TRIUM Program) and a Juris Doctor (Law) from the University of Melbourne.

Dr. Behrenbruch was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on the 4th of May 2018 and is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.

Christopher Burns B.Sc. (Hons) PhD GAICD

Non-Executive Director 

Chris is an experienced drug discovery leader having worked in various roles in pharma, biotech and academia for 25 years.

After completing a Ph D in Organic Chemistry at the University of Melbourne Chris undertook postodoctoral studies in the USA before moving to Pfizer UK, where he worked on a variety of drug discovery projects. After 5 years he returned to Australia as a Research Fellow at the University of Sydney with the CRC for Molecular Engineering and Technology and after two years moved to the biotechnology company Ambri as Head of Chemistry.

Chris then moved to the Melbourne-based biotech Cytopia as Head of Medicinal Chemistry and later as Research Director. Over this time he led teams in the discovery of two anti-cancer agents that have entered clinical trial, including the drug momelotinib which successfully completed Phase III studies. Most recently Chris was a Laboratory Head at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research in Melbourne and is now CEO and Research Director at privately-held MetabloQ Pharmaceuticals.

Dr Burns is the inventor on over 30 patents and a co-author on over 50 scientific publications and is a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) and the Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

Dr. Burns was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on the 4th of May 2018 and is a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Andrew Cooke LLB

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Cooke holds a law degree from Sydney University and has extensive experience in law, corporate finance, governance and compliance. As a Non-Executive Director and Company Secretary of a number of ASX listed companies he has over 25 years of boardroom experience and has developed a practical blend of legal and commercial acumen. He has served as a consultant to listed, public and private companies in the resources, property and biotech sectors focussing on stock exchange and regulatory compliance and a wide range of corporate transactions. 

Mr. Cooke was appointed as Company Secretary on 11 October 2013 and continues in this role. He was appointed as an independent Non-Executive Director on the 4th of May 2018 and is Chairman of the Audit Committee.